Welcome to the on-line-store ARTA Music cz en

The Fensters
Jazz Music Vol. 1

F10035   [8595017403521]   released 10/1992

play all Jazz Music Vol.1 - The Fensters 57:28
The Optimist 1:17
Jeseník 9:51
Clear Cut 7:59
Line Out 1:31
Low Thresholds 7:25
Mt.Rundle 8:22
Giant Elephant Heat 4:11
Sarung & Terah 7:49
Norse 2:23
Bridge 6:04

Francois Théberge: soprano and tenor saxophones
Andy Middleton: soprano and tenor saxophones
Paul Imm: double-bass
Alan Jones: drums

"The American/Canadian band THE FENSTERS shows an unusual setup - 2 saxophones, bass and drums, and in their instrumentation we find lie exhaustive possibilities. Alan Jones stamps the entire sound with his dynamic drumming and finds in bassist Paul Imm a congenial partner. Almost rascal-like, the two play rhythmic tricks on each other. In their experimentation they surprised each other and brought the musicians and the audience to laughter. Francois Theberge is an energetic, technical and exceptional player, contrasting with his partner and foil Middleton, whose restraint gives the melodic development of his solos great conviction. Both have perfect control of the entire spectrum of jazz improvisation, from the swing riffs to abstract free excursions. Whoever has the opportunity to experience this group shouldn't miss the chance; "The Fensters open the eyes to unexplored musical possibilities."

-Jurgen Schwab, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung


Francois Theberge has performed throughout the world with such artists as Frank Sinatra, Red Rodney, The Glenn Miller Orchestra, Archie Shepp, Johnny Griffin, Rosemary Clooney, Tom Harrell, Michel Legrande, Phil Woods, Toots Thielemans, Kenny Wheeler and many others. His CD release "Asteur" (Lazer Prod. 1997) featuring Horace Parlan was nominated in France for "Best Jazz Album 1997" and Francois was nominated "Best New Talent" in 1998. His recording credits also include work with Mike Zwerin, Carlos Baretto, and Jean-Michel Pilc. Francois studied at the Eastman School of Music and the University of Miami, and is Professor of Jazz Arranging and Composing at the Paris Conservatory. Mr. Theberge lives in Paris.


Andy Middleton has performed with Lionel Hampton, Randy Brecker, Bob Mintzer, Maria Schneider, and Barbara Dennerlein among others. In addition to his credits recording as a sideman with artists such as Lionel Hampton, John Abercrombie, Adam Nussbaum and Danny Gottlieb, Middleton's 3 solo CDs ("Nomad's Notebook" Intuition Records, 1999; "Terra Infirma", Owl Records/EMI France, 1995; "Acid Rain", Owl Records 1991) have featured Dave Holland, Ralph Towner, Renee Rosnes, and Joey Calderazzo. Middleton won the First Prize and Best Soloist Awards at the 13th Europ' Jazz Contest in 1991, and was awarded a National Endowment for the Arts Performance Grant (USA) in 1996. He studied jazz at the University of Miami, the Banff Centre of Fine Arts, and privately with David Liebman, Richie Beirach, Joe Lovano and Michael Brecker. Mr. Middleton lives in Brooklyn, New York.


Paul Imm has performed throughout the world with jazz greats like Dizzy Gillespie, James Moody, Charlie Rouse, Eddie Harris, Steve Lacy, Lee Konitz, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Tom Harrell, Kenny Werner, Wolfgang Engstfeld and Jim Pepper, among others. Paul is very active as a sideman in Europe on many projects and performances and he has recorded with Kenny Werner, Tom Harrell, Markus Becker, and Peter Bolte. He studied with David Baker at the University of Indiana and currently resides in Berlin, Germany.


Alan Jones has performed extensively throughout Europe and North America with Charlie Mariano, David Liebman, Jim Pepper, Bennie Wallace, Don Thompson, Glen Moore, Kenny Wheeler, Mose Allison, and David Friesen among others. He has recorded with Dave Holland, Ralph Towner, Jim Pepper, David Friesen, Renee Rosnes, Wayne Darling, Airto Moriera, and The Alan Jones Sextet (produced by Gino Vannelli). Mr. Jones studied jazz at the Berklee School of Music as well as the Banff Centre for Fine Arts, and currently resides in Portland, Oregon.

© Studio Svengali, May 2024
coded by rhaken.net