Welcome to the on-line-store ARTA Music cz en

CODEX SPECIÁLNÍK – Polyphony in Prague around 1500
Cappella Mariana

KTC1571   [8711801015712]   released 2016

Cappella Mariana, directed by Vojtěch Semerád 

1. Pane Bože bud pri nás - Anonymous 04:08
2. Muteta kokodác vel ut re mi fa et converso - Bartholomeus Frank 04:38
3. Náš milý svatý Václave - Anonymous 04:14
4. Kyrie fons bonitatis - Anonymous 01:56
5. Gloria Amore dei nezpiwayte ho, prziliss jest lahodne a melodizke - Anonymous 02:25
6. Credo Chargé de deul - Heinrich Isaac 09:02
7. Chorus iste 02:55
8. Sanctus klickovo - Flemmik 07:13
9. Miserere nostri Domine - Anonymous 04:43
10. Miserator - Heinrich Finck 03:43
11. Discubuit Jesus - Anonymous 05:44
12. Advocata libera - Johannes Tourout 01:39
13. Benedicta semper sancta - Anonymous 10:00

Codex Speciálník, a manuscript containing polyphonic music which originated in Prague in the course of the last two decades of the 15th century, is considered one of the most important sources of music from Bohemia in the late Middle Ages. The original name of the collection signifies a “special” type of singing, characteristic of the Czech milieu and different from the common liturgical collections. The contents of the codex mostly relate to the mass liturgy of the Utraquist Church and comprise parts of the ordinary, motets, and religious songs, but also non-liturgical sacred music, as well as repertoire intended for instrumental interpretation. Containing some 200 polyphonic pieces, the collection contains music by important composers of the time which was known and performed in Latin Europe (e.g. Bedyngham, Frye, Weerbeke, Josquin, Isaac, and Obrecht), but also works by authors who were mostly active in Central Europe (e.g. Tourout, Flemmik, and Finck) as well as anonymous works (in some cases on Czech lyrics) among which we find some remarkable examples of the local reception of Franco-Flemish polyphony. A special category is formed by compositions from the late 14th century and the first half of the 15th century that were written in an older style but purposely performed in the Utraquist environment as part of a unique and quite independent tradition whose beginnings can be traced to the pre-Hussite period.

Cappella Mariana is a vocal ensemble specializing in medieval and renaissance polyphony and the vocal repertoire of Early Baroque. The performances of Capella Mariana have met with enthusiastic reception from the public and critics alike, the latter highlighting the ensemble’s expressive performance based on close attention paid to the text. Cappella Mariana was founded in 2008 as one of the few local ensembles focussing on the interpretation of high vocal polyphony, especially from Italian, Flemish, and English Renaissance but also discovering hidden treasures from Middle Europe sources. The ensemble is an artistic guarantor of the concert cycle Lenten Fridays since 2010 which aims to revive the historical tradition of musical performances held at the Monastery of the Knights of the Cross with the Red Star.
The members of the ensemble are internationally renowned vocal artists who regularly collaborate also with ensemble Collegium Marianum and are frequent guests at some of the foremost European and world music scenes. They specialize in the interpretation of baroque and pre-romantic music and have appeared in concert venues in the Czech Republic and abroad with ensembles such as Bach Collegium Japan, Collegium Vocale Gent, Tiburtina Ensemble, Collegium 1704 or Vox Luminis. In 2012 the ensemble published its first CD, Sacrum et Profanum. In 2014 Cappella Mariana participated in the celebrations of the Year of Czech Music, publishing second CD Praga Magna with repertory of the court of Rudolf II, performing at the important European festivals and recording its concert performances for the Czech Radio. Nowadays the ensemble is regular guest of festivals like Oude Muziek Utrecht, Laus Polyphoniae Antwerp, Arte Sacro Madrid or Klangvokal Dortmund.

Further recording by the ensemble Cappella Mariana:

© Studio Svengali, August 2022
coded by rhaken.net